Sunday, May 26, 2024
No menu items!

Having food franchise which have 1 menu of pork

Fatwaa ID: 2153

Question:
Assalamualaikum Hazrat, I am located in Alabama and I have questions regarding getting Fast Food franchise of Dairy Queen, my question is in the menu of this franchise we have 1 burger which contain bacon of pork, so some of our friends guide us that don’t take income from that particular items which contains Pork ,which we have to sell as per agreement of Franchise. Or another option which we have that we can replace that pork bacon with Turkey bacon without knowing customer because it’s same thing but different ingredients. Do you think is it possible. As many Muslims are having this food franchise, Just let me know as I am confused and majority of the business is coming from Icecream and milk shakes but we have burgers as well , is it possible to do such food business. Thanks your answer will be highly appreciated and I will make major decisions of my life and don’t want to risk “Akheraih for this duniya”. Jazkhallah.

Answer:
In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

We commend you for your desire to earn a halaal income. May Allaah Ta’aala bless you and place khayr and barakah in your wealth and business. Barakah is earned from halaal sources only. Haraam sources, even if minute, remove the barakah and lead to regret.

In principle, it is not permissible to sell something which is haraam, be it pork, haraam beef, haraam chicken or any product that contains haraam ingredients. Every item that one sells must be halaal. Likewise, it is impermissible to feed others haraam or facilitate it for them even if they are non-Muslims. Accordingly, it will not be permissible for you to sell burgers that are haraam. The income therefrom will also be haraam. The prohibition is applicable even if you do not take the haraam income. This includes haraam patties, haraam bacons and other items. You must ensure the ice creams and milkshakes are also halaal. If you are unable to sell halaal products or alternatives, then you should not sell that at all. If that means not having the franchise, then let that be so. Your Deen comes first. Happiness and barakah in your life cannot come from haraam.

As for your question regarding lying to the customers, that will not be halaal nor is that legal. You must avoid that as well.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best.
Mufti Muajul I. Chowdhury
Darul Iftaa New York
https://askthemufti.us/

08/07/1445 AH – 02/17/2024 CE | 858

وصل اللهم وسلم وبارك على سيدنا محمد وعلى ءاله وصحبه أجمعين

__________________
Disclaimer

Darul Iftaa New York answers questions on issues pertaining to Shari’ah. These questions and answers are placed for public view on askthemufti.us for educational purposes. The rulings given here are based on the questions posed and should be read in conjunction with the questions. Many answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation. 

Darul Iftaa New York bears no responsibility with regard to its answers being used out of their intended contexts, nor with regard to any loss or damage that may be caused by acting on its answers or not doing so.

References and links to other websites should not be taken as an endorsement of all contents of those websites. 

Answers may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent of Darul Iftaa New York.