Monday, February 6, 2023
No menu items!

Mirin in sushi and other dishes

Fatwaa ID: 392

Question:
Is Mirin used in sushi Halal? I believe it comes from rice wine and it’s intended use is meant for cooking and not drinking. Granted that it doesn’t come grape, what is the hanafi position on this?

Answer:
In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

Mirin is alcohol. Alcohol, irrespective of source, is impermissible according to the mainstream position. It is not permissible to consume products containing Mirin. Similarly, sake is another type of alcohol used in Asian food. This is also impermissible.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best.
Mufti Muajul I. Chowdhury
Darul Iftaa New York
https://askthemufti.us/

06/22/1444 AH – 01/15/2023 CE | AMG3-3163

وصل اللهم وسلم وبارك على سيدنا محمد وعلى ءاله وصحبه أجمعين

__________________
Disclaimer

Darul Iftaa New York answers questions on issues pertaining to Shari’ah. These questions and answers are placed for public view on askthemufti.us for educational purposes. The rulings given here are based on the questions posed and should be read in conjunction with the questions. Many answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation. 

Darul Iftaa New York bears no responsibility with regard to its answers being used out of their intended contexts, nor with regard to any loss or damage that may be caused by acting on its answers or not doing so.

References and links to other websites should not be taken as an endorsement of all contents of those websites. 

Answers may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent of Darul Iftaa New York.