Wednesday, July 17, 2024
No menu items!

Sushi

Fatwaa ID: 1707

Question:
Assalamualaikum,
Is it halal to consume Sushi? Sometimes the ingredients may use rice wine vinegar.

Answer:
In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

  1. It is permissible to eat sushi provided that it is free from haraam ingredients. One common ingredient in many sushi dishes is mirin, rice wine. That is haraam. If the wine evaporates, then too it is haraam. You must verify each ingredient prior to consuming sushi. Another ingredient of concern for Hanafis is crab.
  2. Rice wine vinegar is permissible to consume provided that the end product does not contain any wine.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best.
Mufti Muajul I. Chowdhury
Darul Iftaa New York
https://askthemufti.us/

02/14/1445 AH – 08/31/2023 CE | AML3-3646

وصل اللهم وسلم وبارك على سيدنا محمد وعلى ءاله وصحبه أجمعين

__________________
Disclaimer

Darul Iftaa New York answers questions on issues pertaining to Shari’ah. These questions and answers are placed for public view on askthemufti.us for educational purposes. The rulings given here are based on the questions posed and should be read in conjunction with the questions. Many answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation. 

Darul Iftaa New York bears no responsibility with regard to its answers being used out of their intended contexts, nor with regard to any loss or damage that may be caused by acting on its answers or not doing so.

References and links to other websites should not be taken as an endorsement of all contents of those websites. 

Answers may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent of Darul Iftaa New York.