Monday, May 27, 2024
No menu items!

Vegetarian bacon flavored chips

Fatwaa ID: 549

I’ve noticed alot of Muslims where I work (retail) are buying suitable for vegetarians bacon flavoured crisps. Is this permissible to consume? If it is not permissible do I need to tell the customers it is not permissible as when I told one of the customers it might still not be permissible they did not agree as it states it’s suitable for vegetarians.

In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

There are two issues: the content being halaal and emulating or the desire to emulate haraam. While the chips in reference may be suitable considering the ingredients, it is definitely not suitable considering the other angle. Bacon, or pork, is haraam. Why would a Muslim wish to try how it tastes? We are people of principle. The chips in reference should be avoided. Advise the others and leave it to them.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best.
Mufti Muajul I. Chowdhury
Darul Iftaa New York

07/16/1444 AH – 02/07/2023 CE | AML1-7034

وصل اللهم وسلم وبارك على سيدنا محمد وعلى ءاله وصحبه أجمعين


Darul Iftaa New York answers questions on issues pertaining to Shari’ah. These questions and answers are placed for public view on for educational purposes. The rulings given here are based on the questions posed and should be read in conjunction with the questions. Many answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation. 

Darul Iftaa New York bears no responsibility with regard to its answers being used out of their intended contexts, nor with regard to any loss or damage that may be caused by acting on its answers or not doing so.

References and links to other websites should not be taken as an endorsement of all contents of those websites. 

Answers may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent of Darul Iftaa New York.