Thursday, February 9, 2023
No menu items!

Vinegar

Fatwaa ID: 322

Question:
Asalaam alaykum, I have a question about vinegar – It is clear that vinegar is halal, however there are many variants in the west (Spirit vinegar, Red vine vinegar, cider vinegar, malt vinegar).

These are often produced by industrial / chemical methods as a by-product of the wine industry.

These vinegars are in many foods (tomato ketchup, sandwiches etc.) and consumers would have little to no knowledge of how/where the vinegar ingredient came from.

My question is, are all vinegars halal?

Answer:
In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

Vinegar is generally made from wine. As long as there is no wine remaining in the vinegar, it will be permissible to consume.

And Allaah Ta’aala knows best.
Mufti Muajul I. Chowdhury
Darul Iftaa New York
https://askthemufti.us/

06/15/1444 AH – 01/08/2023 CE | AMG3-3408

وصل اللهم وسلم وبارك على سيدنا محمد وعلى ءاله وصحبه أجمعين

__________________
Disclaimer

Darul Iftaa New York answers questions on issues pertaining to Shari’ah. These questions and answers are placed for public view on askthemufti.us for educational purposes. The rulings given here are based on the questions posed and should be read in conjunction with the questions. Many answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation. 

Darul Iftaa New York bears no responsibility with regard to its answers being used out of their intended contexts, nor with regard to any loss or damage that may be caused by acting on its answers or not doing so.

References and links to other websites should not be taken as an endorsement of all contents of those websites. 

Answers may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent of Darul Iftaa New York.